GIRO’21 Stage 15: Victor Campenaerts the Victor!

Giro d’Italia Stage 15: The World hour record holder Victor Campenaerts won stage 15 of the Giro d’Italia in the Slovenian town of Gorizia. The Qhubeka Assos rider out-sprinted Oscar Riesebeek of Alpecin-Fenix on a wet day. Egan Bernal (INEOS Grenadiers) finished in the peloton to hold his pink jersey.

*** Full ‘PEZ Stage Report’ very soon. ***

Lazer helmets G1 banner

The Grand Tour stage win for Victor Campenaerts

Victor Campenaerts won the stage 15 of the Giro after a stage of 147 kilometres, which was neutralized for a while due to an early big crash. The Belgian from Qhubeka Assos Belgian was the best of the early break at the finish in Gorizia. He beat Oscar Riesebeek (Alpecin-Fenix) in a two man sprint.

No problems for Egan Bernal

Giro stage 15 route: A short stage with a cross-border circuit between Italy and Slovenia of approx. 40 km. The route begins flat, all the way to Sagrado, and then clears the Monte San Michele climb. Starting in Mossa, the circuit features three passes over the steep, 2 km long Gornje Cerovo climb (each awarding KOM points), and a succession of tough climbs and descents. After the third lap, the route goes back to Italy through San Floriano del Collio, passes north of Gorizia and crosses the border again, passing through Nova Gorica. The last 5 km are raced partly in Slovenia and partly in Italy. Past Piazza Europa, the route ascends for nearly 1 km at 14% max. gradients, and then takes a technical descent leading back to Italy. Over the final kilometre, the route covers a short stretch on stone pavers. The home straight is 300 m long, on tarmac road.

giro21 st15
Maglia Rosa – Egan Bernal (INEOS Grenadiers), Maglia Ciclamino – Peter Sagan (BORA-hansgrohe)
Maglia Azzurra – Geoffrey Bouchard (AG2R Citroën) and Maglia Bianca – Egan Bernal (INEOS Grenadiers), worn by Aleksandr Vlasov (Astana-Premier Tech)

The peloton leaves Grado

Sunday morning horse ride

The road into Slovenia

The race had to be stopped due to a big crash

Emanuel Buchmann, Jos van Emden, Natnael Berhane and Ruben Guerreiro had to abandon

The fans were out to see the Giro in Slovenia

The Gornje Cerovo climb looked quite normal for the Giro

The peloton wasn’t too interested in the chase – At nearly 13 minutes

The rain won’t help those vines

The break had a big gap

It was great to see the fans roadside

The win was going to come form the break

A very happy Victor Campenaerts

Stage winner, Victor Campenaerts (Qhubeka Assos): “It was just an amazing day for the team. As we don’t have climbers for the next few stages in the mountains, we decided to go all in today. We rode as one: ubuntu – ‘I am because we are’. We gave everything from the first few kilometers, what a fantastic day. We did a great job and I am so happy I could finish it off. Now we have three victories in the Giro, which is simply fantastic for a team that struggled to stay alive. We’re making an important statement as we are racing for the greater purpose of changing lives with bicycles: to provide bicycles in Africa for better education and better lives.”

Third place went to Nikias Arndt (DSM ahead of Simone Consonni (Cofidis)

Giro d’Italia Stage 15 Result:
1. Victor Campenaerts (Bel) Qhubeka Assos in 3:25:25
2. Oscar Riesebeek (Ned) Alpecin-Fenix
3. Nikias Arndt (Ger) DSM at 0:07
4. Simone Consonni (Ita) Cofidis
5. Quinten Hermans (Bel) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux
6. Dario Cataldo (Ita) Movistar
7. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo at 0:09
8. Albert Torres Barcelo (Spa) Movistar at 0:44
9. Juan Sebastian Molano Benavides (Col) UAE Team Emirates at 1:02
10. Maximilian Walscheid (Ger) Qhubeka Assos.

Giro d’Italia Overall After Stage 15:
1. Egan Bernal Gomez (Col) INEOS Grenadiers in 62:13:33
2. Simon Yates (GB) BikeExchange at 1:33
3. Damiano Caruso (Ita) Bahrain Victorious at 1:51
4. Aleksandr Vlasov (Rus) Astana-Premier Tech at 1:57
5. Hugh Carthy (GB) EF Education-Nippo at 2:11
6. Giulio Ciccone (Ita) Trek-Segafredo at 3:03
7. Remco Evenepoel (Bel) Deceuninck – Quick-Step at 3:52
8. Daniel Martinez Poveda (Col) INEOS Grenadiers at 3:54
9. Tobias Foss (Nor) Jumbo-Visma at 5:37
10. Attila Valter (Hun) Groupama-FDJ at 7:49.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what’s cool in road cycling?

Adblock test (Why?)

Credits :

Leave a Reply

Related Posts

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top
%d bloggers like this: